Author Topic: Dawn of Genesis: Power Info Emergence  (Read 3671 times)

Jusri

• Developer
  • Inf: +1/-0
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Dawn of Genesis: Power Info Emergence
« on: June 29, 2023, 10:29:06 am »
Power Info Emergence

Design Notes: Greetings, I'm Jusri, one of the Rebirth developers who's been focused on backend fixes and enhancements.  Today I'm here to share about the updates that we've made to the power information window.  I've been working on pieces of this update since November 2022.  I'm excited to finally get this to you.

The goal of this update was simple: when you click on a power, it should tell you what the power does.  With this update, we focused on getting detailed information about a power into players' hands.

As some may know, powers are defined within the game as structured text files.  Sites like Red Tomax's City of Data parsed this data (as encoded in the pigg files) and attempted to provide it in a human readable format. Even then, some of the more complex mechanics encoded in those files can be opaque and hard to understand.  Internally, the power information window is effectively doing the same thing.  Our goal with this update was to increase the range of things that the power information window is able to parse and display to you about a power.

However, because the power system is so robust in City of Heroes, there are numerous ways that a single power could be implemented and have the same effect.  In many cases power sets require special parsing to handle their idiosyncrasies.  In this update, we were not able to tackle every power, but we were able to expand the tools available to the power information window.  In the future we will be able display more comprehensive information about even more powers.