Author Topic: Create a screenshot toggle bind  (Read 572 times)

jordan_yen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Inf: +3/-0
    • View Profile
    • Jordan's Town
    • Awards
Create a screenshot toggle bind
« on: May 26, 2021, 03:06:26 pm »
Why?

Because there are a ton of cool things in the game that look better without the UI. For example, when I take my lvl 50 photos or unique areas:



Level 50... Woot woot!



Trying to set up a great shot doesn't hit the same way with the UI present. Toggle it off with a keypress to get a quick capture.

At the same time, it's pretty hard to turn the UI back on if you can't see the chat window to type the command. Instead, it's best to put it to a bind. Granted, you could have one key to turn it off and another to turn it on, but why use two keys when you can use one instead (saves other keys for other commands).

To do this, you use a toggle bind. Create two files as follows:

c:\binds\screen.txt

Code: [Select]
O "++disable2d$$screenshotui 0$$bindloadfile c:\binds\screen2.txt"
c:\binds\screen2.txt

Code: [Select]
O "++disable2d$$screenshotui 1$$bindloadfile c:\binds\screen.txt"
What this will do is turn off the UI when you press O or, if it's already off, it will toggle it on. The only thing missing is to load one of these two to start with which will cause them to load each other from then on.

To do this, manually type this into your chat:

Code: [Select]
/bindloadfile c:\binds\screen.txt
And you're done.

Pro Tip

If you read my other post about setting up base binds shared across all your characters, the above line would work very well in the "base_binds.txt" file:

Code: [Select]
O bindloadfile c:\binds\screen.txt
This way, the first time I press O for any character loads the cycling binds that toggle screen UI from then on. Pretty easy.

« Last Edit: May 26, 2021, 03:07:59 pm by jordan_yen »

Nod

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Inf: +1/-0
  • Bugs and robots, ma'am, bugs and robots...
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Create a screenshot toggle bind
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2021, 06:21:14 pm »
Not bad!

I just use a keybind that takes a screenshot with and without the ui:

/bind SYSRQ "screenshotui 0$$screenshot$$screenshotui 1$$screenshot"

jordan_yen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Inf: +3/-0
    • View Profile
    • Jordan's Town
    • Awards
Re: Create a screenshot toggle bind
« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2021, 09:57:30 am »
That's cool! I wouldn't want to use that personally because I have over 9000 screenshots (not a meme, really 9000+) already. If I doubled that it would be crazy. Great tip regardless :D

Nod

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Inf: +1/-0
  • Bugs and robots, ma'am, bugs and robots...
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Create a screenshot toggle bind
« Reply #3 on: May 29, 2021, 08:34:47 pm »
9000 huh?
Well, its a good start...

 ;)